Lord, Show Me Your Glory ~

I Want To See God's Glory ~ CHRISTian poetry by deborah ann ~

Lord, show me Your glory,
let Your goodness reveal
mercy that’s everlasting
ceaseless, undying and real.

Show me Your brilliance,
a glimpse of Your light
where there’ll be no need
for daytime or night.

Lord, show me Your glory,
let Your perfection shine
give me a glimpse of paradise
heavenly and divine.

Show me Your beauty,
let Your kindness expose
the rivers of joy
where peacefulness flows.

Lord, show me Your glory,
let Your holiness reveal
Your coming kingdom
for I know it’ll be surreal!

~~~~~~~

Exodus 33:18

“And he said, I beseech thee,
shew me thy glory.”

King James Version
by Public Domain

Copyright 2015
Deborah Ann Belka

About Deborah Ann Belka

I love the Lord with all my heart and soul. My Holy Spirit inspired poetry tells of my trust in God, my faith in Christ Jesus my Savior and my journey into finding peace that truly passes all understanding. I pray it will be a blessing to all who read it ~ To God Be The Glory! ~ View all posts by Deborah Ann Belka

19 responses to “Lord, Show Me Your Glory ~

  • Peace A

    A great poem, can I use some part of it for my song

    Like

  • blessedart1111

    Love it! Thanks for sharing!

    Be A Blessing!

    LaTrice Brandon

    Like

  • Brian Casey

    Have you considered using versions other than the 1611 KJV in your scripture inclusions? The scripture thoughts you share are typically decipherable in that language. Here, “beseech” is a rich word, but “shew” is not. 🙂 Many other versions, easier to grasp, are also freely available for your purposes. Just a thought.

    Like

    • deborah ann

      Hi Brian . . . I have about 5 different copies of the Bible and I am sold on King James . . . I do not understand what you are saying “beseech” is a rich word, but “shew” is not! I like King James because I feel the Holy Spirit is interpreting it for me. I do a Bible Study on the verse I am using and that is how I put most of the poems together. So if you could explain a little more to me what your thought is I would appreciate it. ~ Have a blessed day with Jesus ~

      Like

      • Brian Casey

        Hi, Deborah. It is because I care very deeply about scripture and its translation that I wrote about a page in reply. It is because of your good spirit and not wanting hijack space on your blog that I’ve decided NOT to send what I wrote! I think I’ll just sum up. . . .

        My concerns here pertain mostly to *communication,* i.e., that the KJV was written more than 400 years ago. Language is a living, breathing thing, with many words disappearing, appearing, and changing in meaning over years and decades, much less centuries.

        Another vantage point for you to consider is your *audience.* If you happen to know that most of your audience either prefers or knows only the KJV, then you are probably making the right decision to continue to use it as a basis. Many believers learned of God when the KJV was the only English version widely available, and those sincere, mostly older souls are just fine by me. On the other hand, some denominations make the (blind, unfounded) proclamation that the KJV is the only word of God, and I combat that position with convicted gusto.

        If you want to pursue more, just say so — perhaps write me by e-mail at blcasey14-at-gmail-dot-com. But if you’re not all that interested, that’s fine — “different strokes for different folks.” 🙂

        Like

        • deborah ann

          Yes, I would be interested in your take on KJV and that which is a more suitable version for today’s “communicatons”. I am an old soul . . . the King James to me is very poetic and it makes me dig deeper into the Word. Which version(s) of the Bible do you perfer? I will send you an email asking this too so you can give me your full reply, although I don’t care if you post it here as maybe some of my readers would like to hear your input on this. Thank you for taking the time to explain to me why you feel the KJV is not always the best choice. ~ Blessings ~

          Like

          • Brian Casey

            Thanks for leaving the door open here, Deborah. I’ve spent hours penning and refining a response to you, and I’ll send more by e-mail and have chosen a few excerpts of my two pages to post here on your blog. . . .

            Just so you know where I’m coming from: I’m after exegetically derived understanding before attempting application. This type of study and understanding is, unfortunately, rarely practiced in even the most serious-minded churches. . . . So often what passes for “Bible study” is merely discussion of “what this means to me.” For those who seriously want to pursue hearing God through inspired authors today, the KJV often gets in the way of understanding . . . because of its outdated language.
            Now, it’s not that I know it all — far from it — it’s that I’m trying to be as intent as I can be, with the tools I have available, about getting the message . . . about hearing God.
            . . .
            We now have infinitely better scholarship to bring us more communicative, more accurate versions of what was originally scribed. Today’s versions are not all equally worthy, but most of them have better chance, in 2015, of communicating something God wanted said than the KJV has.
            . . .
            The best bet is not depending on any single, English translation . . . but rather, using multiple translations, along with other tools, such as interlinear and original-language materials, that can help us exegete the message.
            This is why translation is important in the first place — to give the message to the people in a language they can best understand. . . . I sincerely doubt that Martin Luther or John Calvin or John Wesley or Alexander Campbell or any other old reformer, if living today, would be satisfied with the KJV. It’s about communicating in the language of the people.
            . . .

            I probably have 25 English Bibles and another 20 or so available electronically, and I refer to others sometimes. Personally, for whatever it’s worth, I’m currently using the NRSV, NASB, NJB, and NET Bible primarily. But it’s not my purpose to advocate any particular translation — only to suggest that your obviously devoted heart would better served with a broader audience if you varied your translations here and there.

            No reply necessary, but again, thank you for opening the door.

            Like

            • deborah ann

              I am going to print out and read your entire email and will respond with my thoughts on your thoughts if I feel lead to. Thank you for sharing your insights with me. ~ Have a blessed day with Jesus ~

              Like

              • Brian Casey

                Thank you for your attention to this important topic, Deborah. I don’t know what might lead you to respond (or not), but please know that I’m much less interested in a verbal response than I am in the sure knowledge that you will be considering all that I wrote privately as you are able.

                Like

You Are a Blessing To Me ~

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

True Living Today

with Coach Angela Dobbins

Revived Poet Society

The poets' laud who owe it to God

Living life with Jesus

Journaling my faith

DeDeBullReilly

Just another WordPress.com site

Morning Dew . Life

Refreshing Dew from the Word of God

A Closer Walk with God

Devotions from a Journey Through the Holy Lands

I Thank God

All in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. - Col 3:17

Pastore Praise

Sharing the Word of God

Whitestone Fellowship

Devotional, Devotion, Prophecy, Bible Study, Bible discussion, End of Days, End Times, Enter Ministry, Underground Church, Church, Fellowship, Tribulation, Salvation, Ordained, Love, Heaven, Miracles

Wholeheartedly Faithful

Embracing life with a faithful heart

The Red Horse War Against Gods Government understood by the parables of Jesus

"And there went out another horse that was red: and power was given to him that sat thereon to take peace from the earth, and that they should kill one another: and there was given unto him a great sword." Revelation 6:4

"Bible 4 Reasoning"

Reasoning through the marvelous righteous Word of our Lord Jesus Christ

A Blog on Prayer

For People Who Pray

Continually Seeking Him

Seek the Lord and His strength, Seek His face continually.

Click on "Morning Blessings & Love" Blogs Below

You must warn each other every day, while it is still “today,” so that none of you will be deceived by sin and hardened against God. For if we are faithful to the end, trusting God just as firmly as when we first believed, we will share in all that belongs to Christ. - Hebrews 3:13-14 NLT

The Potter

facilitates spiritual growth

IT'S ALL ABOUT LOVE

In life's amazing journey, we begin and end with love.

The Road That Leads To Life!

Welcome to this divine abode, where seekers of the divine word come together. Prepare yourself for a truly enlightening experience, as you open your heart to the captivating voice of the Lord.

Defender Of The Faith Missions & Ministry

Defending God's people through Humanitarian Aid, Brotherly Love and HIS Word..Where so ever Dispersed!

Walking in Light

“ . . . by His light I walked through darkness” Job 29:3

The Christian Caravan

All articles on this site use the NKJV bible unless listed otherwise.

Kingdom Moments

Based upon Matthew 6:33 - "But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added to you." (NASB) A blog about what the Kingdom of Heaven is; and how believers can inherit it.

Kristin Shay - Beach Therapy

Christian/ Substance Abuse /Counselor

Dan Londeree

A journey of grace

Flannel with Faith

Flannel with Faith-Embracing Imperfection with Faith, Flannel, & Fresh Air

The Eyes of My Heart

Stay true to His calling

A Heart for the Lord

Reflections on Scripture to encourage

Words of Grace & Hope

Growing in Him Daily

Learn and Grow 4ever

A life with Jesus is a life in progress.

His Song in the Night

Hope and Encouragement for Every Season

To Encourage You

Thoughts to encourage you grounded in the immeasureable treasures of God's holy Word.

A Faithful Sower

Scattering the Seeds of God's Word

Get More Ministries

Growing closer to God by getting more out of the Bible

Restoring Voice

Writings on Faith, Hope, Restoration, Growth & Other Musings

coffeewithChrist

Wise virgins waiting together in the Word

Radical In Christ

Overflowing Life Rooted in Jesus Christ

Jesus

Jesus Loves You, Teaching The World About Jesus Christ Love

Stutter-Stepping Seasons

POETRY & Other Offerings

"The MOrning WOrd"

Looped Around God

Titus Two

Leading The Way

Cast Your Net

Thoughts from a fisherman who is trying to follow Jesus - mostly sermons, to be honest - in the hopes that you'll throw out a line yourself...

Insights into Bible Prophecy

The Last Days in light of the Death and Resurrection of Jesus

Bible Study Journey: Unveiling Truth

"I can do all this through him who gives me strength." Philippians 4:13

Abundant Joy

Digging Deep Into The Word

Faithpondering

Teatime musings on faith, truth, and life.